Compliance is not deadening

I’ve been on meds  for over a year and I had no clue life could be this easy. My energy is not tied up in managing my erratic moods and I now have the focus to make actual progress. I have a new job, and for the past 6 months I have been a loving, attentive and level headed mama. I have developed a pretty good relationship with my psychiatrist. I actually trust her input. This is the most consistently happy I’ve been since high school. And yes, this stasis was unachievable for me without medication. For the past six years I have struggled with my diagnosis and struggled with taking my prescribed medication consistently. And the past six years I struggled with self medicating, alcoholism, insomnia, an overdose, and a slew of hospitilizations. I am much relieved to be doing entirely better. My mindset has even changed. I could care less about my diagnosis, I view it as having undesirable symptoms, symptoms that will prevent me from being clear-headed and present for my son. I am becoming more responsible and improving myself without the built in sabatoging effect of medical non compliance. Thank you for following my journey through a mental health diagnosis and my struggle to find peace. I have found peace  in family life and bettering our tomorrow. I hope to help others who struggle and be an example of what life can be if you don’t give up at your rock bottom.

One thought on “Compliance is not deadening

Leave a comment